It snowed! …and other thoughts

I’m not sure where to start. I’m not the best at keeping my blog updated, so I haven’t actually written much of anything in a while. I’ve lived in Dublin nearly 4 months now and time have passed by incredibly quickly. I tried to take advantage of warmer days and sunny weather by exploring my new city so I’ve been kept pretty busy, but winter is quickly approaching. I actually woke up the other morning to snow falling outside my window, which as a native Floridian is not something I see often (or ever).

I’m finally starting to establish a routine. I know what bus routes to take, I have a few pubs that I frequent (shoutout to O’Donoghue’s, where all the barmen know my name), and I no longer get lost trying to find Murphy’s Ice Cream.

However, I still don’t have a full time job. I’ve worked a few jobs here and there but it is a bit frustrating to not have the financial security of a regular paycheck. It’s quite hard to find paid work on a 6-12 month contract. I have recently acquired some freelance video editing work, and will be doing some work this coming week but I’m hopefule that I’ll be able to secure a decent job in the very near future. Finding a job soon is pretty much my only option if I want to continue living in Ireland for the duration of my visa (which expires at the end of next summer) so I will just have to make it work.

Moving to a new country to work isn’t like study abroad. I’m not spending my days socializing, going on cool weekend trips, or doing pub crawls (although, to be fair, I have done all of these things). These last few months have been a crash-course in adulthood that has left me feeling confident that once I move back to the U.S. I’ll be able to conquer anything that comes my way. Adjusting to a new way of life hasn’t been easy, but ultimately it has been rewarding.

This coming week will be pretty busy for me. On Tuesday I’m doing a trial-run for a job that I think I’ll really enjoy, and on Thursday I’m going to be celebrating my second Thanksgiving in a row in Ireland down in Durrow. Philip and Tara are organizing a huge feast in my honor, and I’m so excited to go visit everyone for a nice meal. On Friday the Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life comes out, and you can bet I will be headed back to Dublin by mid-day so that I can enjoy all 6 hours of Gilmore Girls alone in my bed with a never-ending supply of Diet Coke. On Saturday my friend Grace and I are taking the train up to Belfast for a weekend of hockey and sightseeing.

I can’t wait to see what this week brings!

Leave a Reply

