Guinness, Chinese Food and Game of Thrones

Okay, so I’ll admit I’m not the best at blogging. I get busy and forget that I wanted to chronicle my life so I just live it instead. The last few months have been quite busy. I’ve worked in 3 different offices, visited Winterfell, helped Sheppard’s with an auction and for one (horrible) day I even worked in a pub.

Let’s go back to the beginning of September. For the first few weeks of September I was working as a temp receptionist for an energy company. Everyone there was really nice and it was an easy enough job. It was a good intro to what temping is like. After that temp job finished I had 2 free weeks before work for Sheppard’s started and I wasn’t really sure what to do with my time at first, but I found things to do.

In case you’re wondering, it’s incredibly hard to open a bank account in Ireland. I’ve been trying for MONTHS, but my proof of address was never right even if I bring in what I was told to. It took 3 months for me to finally have all of the proper documentation I needed to open a bank account here. My first task during my two weeks off was to go get my PPS number, which was painless, but then I spent DAYS in different banks begging them to let me give them my money. It’s actually ridiculous.

Faced with about a week and a half of nothingness before I was going to head down to Durrow, I decided I needed a little adventure. I’m a pretty enthusiastic fan of Game of Thrones so I booked a spot on a Game of Thrones tour that takes you up to Northern Ireland to visit a few filming locations from the show. If you’re in Ireland, and you like GOT I highly recommend doing this. We visited the forest where the very first scene of the show was filmed, met some Direwolves, visited the original set for Winterfell (they use a different one now) and saw where Rob Stark was declared the true King in the North. Apart from the locations being scenic on their own, our guide Eric is an extra of Game of Thrones and had a ton of cool information to share with us.

14212051_10153768504640009_8426478771508374304_n

The rest of my time during that time off was spent applying for jobs (someone please give me a job) and exploring parts of Dublin that I haven’t seen before, such as Farmleigh House, or going back to places that are becoming favorites like Howth.

Finally it was time to head back to Durrow to assist Sheppard’s with a special auction at Loughton House in Moneygall, Co. Offaly. Moneygall happens to be Barack Obama’s ancestral village in Ireland, which is evident by the pictures of him plastered up across the village. I was excited to be working with Sheppard’s again because it’s never boring, and everyone involved is always so nice. We had Chinese food 3 times in the span of one week, and went through countless bottles of wine. t was a great time.

The month of October was spent job hunting, making new friends, and finally feeling like I “get” Dublin. I haven’t been updating this blog the way I wanted to, so I am going to try to make writing here weekly (or at the very least, monthly) a part of my routine.

img_8316

So much is happening, and I want to remember exactly how I was feeling at this time in my life.

Leave a Reply

